Paleo Blueberry Scones

All the healthy, diet food I made the past days have been eaten or eventually went bad. And since the break just ended and I have to go back to school, I had to find I new snack for inbetween my courses (a healthy one). So I decided to try out a new recipe today, since my classes got cancelled.

I made Paleo Blueberry Scones:

Ingredients: 11117455_1109633212395548_305254044_n

  • 1.5 cups of cashews
  • 1/4 cup of arrowroot starch
  • A pinch of salt
  • 1 tsp of baking powder
  • 1 cup of blueberries
  • 1/4 cup of coconut oil
  • 3 tbl of maple syrup (I used agave syrup)
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • An egg

The Making of:

  1. 11160345_1109633195728883_1598327981_nMeasure out 1.5 cups of cashews and pour them into a food processor. Also, preheat your oven to 350 F. Blend the cashews until they resemble a coarse meal.
  2. Pour them into a large mixing bowl. Measure out ¼ cup of the arrowroot and add it to the cashew meal. Add a pinch of salt into the bowl. Add 1 tsp of baking powder to the mixing bowl. Whisk everything together.
  3. Add the blueberries to the mix. Stir it together until evenly mixed.
  4. Measure out ¼ cup of coconut oil. Measure out 3 Tbl of maple syrup into the wet ingredients. Measure out 2 tsp vanilla into the bowl. Add one egg. Whisk it together.
  5. Add the wet to the dry ingredients. Stir until it’s evenly combined.
  6. Pour the batter into the pan. Using the back of a spoon and/or your fingers, pat the batter into the pan so that you have an even thickness. Pop it in the oven at 350 F for 30 minutes. Let it cool for at least 10 minutes then slice up into wedges.11157932_1109633125728890_435327137_n

It tasted better than I had expected. It was good, not the best thing I’ve made, but that’s because I’m not a big fan of coconut. My mom did find it delicious!

To see the original recipe go to: http://fedandfit.com/2013/07/28/paleo-blueberry-scones-2/

Leave a Reply

